in the dark recess of my mind

Standard

100 Word Challenge for Grown Ups – Week#46

Thinking of you is a sin and not thinking of you drives me crazy. I try to remember all the glorious moments we shared, the love we had and the promises of nothing would ever change. Instead I see all the lies that crept up in between, the harsh words exchanged like some video game. I remember you doing me wrong and expecting me to take it all in silence, staying strong. So while all is right in my life and I hope never to see you again… In the dark recess of my mind I wish, we meet just once again so I could Stab you once for all!

11 responses »

  1. I know this feeling. For ages I wanted to meet an ex boyfriend one more time just to say or do something that I knew he would hate. I had a few options but hadn’t finalised the details – it wouldn’t have been anything like stabbing him, more a case of having the last word. Anyway I never met him again and I eventually moved on, but I remember that anger. On reflection some of the anger was at myself for allowing him to manipulate me for so long. Phew, that feels better. Thanks for that. 🙂

  2. I love the contrast between the first and last lines: the first line sounds like an on-going illicit affair – and then it turns out to be all over with so much anger left behind. Great one!

  3. I’m intrigued by your story. It makes me want to know more about your character and what’s happened, and how their anger got to be this dark. With more proofreading and a couple of small fixes, this could become even more powerful than it is now.

    • Wow I really appreciate your feedback here. I really didn’t think of elaborating on this one but sure, why not! I would really like to hear more on the Proofreading and small fixes front… Thanks for stopping by.

Why not think aloud:

