Li’l things!

Standard

It’s amazing how we go through life, wishing for all the big things/days, or defining moments, that will change our
lives. Starting from, Learning to walk or may be just growing up faster, First day at high school, first date/kiss, Graduation day, Getting married, hopefully not getting divorced and having kids and the list goes on….

But really?

Is it really on these days/moments that we turn into someone new?

Sure, we do get to change last name (if you wish) or get a title (if you are a doctor), but apart from that, does any of this really change anything?

I keep wondering, how, there are millions of little things, that make us who we are and yet, we never seem to be  aware, of them even happening!

I mean, I waited, and I really mean, ‘standing on one foot, holding my breath’, waited, for the life to happen somewhere in past 29 and a half years, but strangely enough I neglected every single minute I was living it.

And it applies to every thing, Like, men think, they need to buy pearly necklaces, for their woman to be really happy, when she might be just as content, in being asked out for a cup of coffee once in a while by the same man she’s been married to, for as long as she can remember. Similarly, a woman may be killing herself in the gym to stay sexy, to be wanted, when all she needs is, to be happy and smile, to attract a decent bloke.

Every couple wishes for their kids to do big things in life, they aren’t even born and the blue print of whole life is already set for the poor little kid.

Why? Why, is it so important for every thing to happen at a grand level?

Why, we don’t seem to understand that, the gravity was discovered, in a quiet moment, under an apple tree or how a single seagull led to spit fire, hence changing the world history.

There is nothing wrong in wanting to reach stars, but its the desire to leap, It’s, forgetting, that it takes millions of tiny little steps to get there, is what leads us to the unhappiness we feel.

**Only words are mine. Image is thankfully borrowed from http://mysite.verizon.net/vzepir4z/footprints/index.html
10 responses »

  1. Absolutely amazing. I guess people just don’t realize that you don’t just become something big one day, all of a sudden. It’s about all of those little steps (like you said) and all the things that you learn from those steps. Great post!

  2. Thoughtfully written. Great post! And to the question, “Why, is it so important for every thing to happen at a grand level? ” My answer would be “We have one life to live, so why not to try to make everything grand”. 🙂

    • Thank you for stopping by Arindam. And about the life being grand, Like I said, “There is nothing wrong in wanting to reach stars, but its the desire to leap, It’s, forgetting, that it takes millions of tiny little steps to get there, is what leads us to the unhappiness we feel.” I hope that makes sense. 🙂

  3. Amazing words that hit home with me on so many levels. My husband is a bit of a hoarder and believes more items equals happiness. Why isn’t he happy then? This morning we will walk the dogs in the park and that brings me the ultimate sense of peace and happiness. (we are different) As my teenage son was growing up I pushed and pushed him to go to college. I wanted him to be successful – My definition of success! He recently finished his first year, is taking a college break and living, working on a farm. He is finally happy! YOUR words are my lessons. Thank you!
    regards,
    ~Tj

    • Dear Tj,

      I can relate to your husband’s habit of wanting it all, I have been there. However I was lucky enough to realize it early. I am trying hard to break the instinct of wanting to run and get there faster. But its an effort to stay still and work at micro level to make the bigger picture appear. I am glad you liked the post and it made sense to you. Thank you for stopping by.

      Regards,
      BC

Why not think aloud:

