Life’s ways!

Standard

Couple of years ago, I took the low road and succumbed to the easy way out.

We all do that, on day to day basis, don’t we? and mostly there is no harm done. However in my case, I made my situation worse and took another friend down along with me. While the experience itself was painful, shattering and stained with lots of guilty tears, It helped me shape into who I am today and that ways it ended well for me. But in the process I lost a friend and  felt really bad for hurting a nice soul.

No matter how hard I tried to make the mends, it always resulted in exchange of harsh words. Some how this person was capable of bringing the worst out of me. I could lash out with insults I never knew existed and in result ended up being wounded even more. I was somehow convinced that I was the bad one and the other person was the victim here.

Till about last year, after another failed attempt at reconciliation, I took a step back and finally decided to let it all go. May be I was not the only one to be blamed and may be not every bridge can be mended again. I vowed to not make things any worse and prayed every day for the strength to carry on.

While it worked for me, it seems this dear friend of mine is still not able to let go. Every couple of months I get insults swinged at me, and unlike in the past, I am easily able to dodge.  I don’t feel the need to prove a point or hurt back any more.

Just the other day I got another note, wishing for me to burn in Hell and So intense was the need of this person to hurt me hard, that the poor soul couldn’t even frame the words right. I always used to get so hurt reading the words addressed to me that no decent person deserves to hear, and today all I feel is compassion for the person, who must be so overwhelmed with feelings that couldn’t even wait to get the note straight.

Every day lived, especially the ones I feel were unnecessarily hard, seem to bring out the best in me. Every minute, I am given a choice to take it easy or work hard for all its worth and I try not to forget the fallen moments and work hard to make it count, even if, its just for a day.

6 responses »

  1. It’s a shame that this happened, Piya, but the other person really has to move on because it sounds like they’re probably hurting themselves more than they’re hurting you 😦

    • Dear Dianne,

      I have learned, that we all learn at our own pace. Those are smarter or better, who have the knack to learn from others mistakes, rest like me, dont get the lesson till they pay for it themselves. Even then I am not sure how long the learning stays… 🙂

      Regards,
      PS

  2. It sounds like you’re definitely on the high road now. Good for you. There is something in this for the other person to learn, too, and it’s not always easy to watch someone battle their dragon without trying to help (interfere).

    • Dear Roxann,

      I am taking it each day at a time. I err more often than I would like to, but the battle continues. Indeed, It is hard not to intervene, but now I do understand that National Geographic’s approach to never interrupt the natural course of action is sometimes really, the right way to go.

Why not think aloud: